More Than Entertainment

I’m visiting my family in another state right now. Yesterday, my mother pulled out this DVD set called The Torchlighters: Heroes of the Faith. It’s an animated series for children. Now, I’m a Christian, but I admit, my initial inner reaction was, “Oh great. I’ll be dripping with cheese by the time this is over.” I was pleasantly surprised. Now, granted, there may have been a little cheese, but the story was about an amazing woman. I was happy that my children, especially my daughter, was able to learn about her and what she was able to do through the strength she received from Christ.

The story was about Gladys Aylward. This woman was awesome. Watching her story made me remember how awesome God is. Gladys was a maid in London in the early 1900’s. She had a dream to become a missionary in China, but she was turned down by England’s missionary board. So, she spent her life’s savings on a one way trip to China, where she had to endure a trek on foot through part of Siberia to reach her destination. She worked with an older woman who had come to China with her then late husband several years before. She accomplished many, many things while in China (and later in Taiwan), but the most amazing thing God used her to accomplish was this: Gladys Aylward, during a Japanese invasion, led over 100 orphans through the mountains to safety. She walked with them and kept them alive on a journey that lasted over a month on foot. And get this- the night before she left with the orphans, she was shot- grazed by a bullet on her shoulder.  That’s crazy awesome. She was a strong woman, who loved the Lord and trusted Him with everything she had, and He used her to accomplish so many great things.

Here’s a link to where you can find these DVDs on amazon. I think they’re worth watching with your kids.

Leave a Reply

