DIY Customizable Bookends (for under $5!)

I have a bookshelf, but I wanted a pair of bookends for my table where I am keeping my school books and devotional material. These are the books I use most, and for convenience, I wanted them near my computer. So, I searched the internet for bookends. I was sorely disappointed in my options. For $6-$20 I could buy a variant of this:

31vfwigRowL._AA160_

 

It could just be me, but those are ugly. Really, really ugly. Could be that I hate them because I worked in two libraries over the course of several years. Or it could be that they are just really ugly.

So, then I found a few in the $35-$50 range. I’m poor. I can’t spend that kind of dough on bookends. I thought, maybe I should take a look at Etsy. Nope. The affordable ones were cheesy or cross-stitched (no offense to those who love cross-stitch), and the nice hand carved wooden ones were $120.

Alrighty then, time to get crafty. This idea came from this blog; you can find numerous variant examples by way of search engine. Here is the finished product (which I LOVE):

DSC_0007

Okay, now for a step by step. Here are the materials you will need.

  1. 2 Bricks (I chose square ones, but the regular kind would work too and are even a bit cheaper. You can find bricks at your hardware store.)
  2. 3 Pieces of Card Stock Scrapbook Paper (1 as an extra, or as a backing, in which case, you wouldn’t need #3.)
  3. 1 Piece of Solid Matching Card Stock
  4. Gorilla Glue (That’s just the glue I had on hand that worked. I tried Krazy glue, but it wouldn’t stick. You need something that will glue paper to a porous surface.)
  5. Scissors
  6. Pen

Step One: Lay your piece of scrapbook paper on a flat, hard surface printed side down. Center your brick, front side down on top of the scrapbook paper.

DSC_0043

Step Two: Fold the left and right sides of the paper up and crease along the bottom edge of the brick. Do the same as you fold the paper over the top edge of the brick. This will give you a guideline and enable you to pre-fold the paper, which will give you a crisper finished product.

DSC_0044    DSC_0045

DSC_0049

Step Three: Now remove the brick and pre-fold the paper, making sure to fold the paper in a straight line. You can replace the brick after folding the bottom crease.

DSC_0047  DSC_0048

DSC_0051

Step Four: Now you will begin gluing the paper onto the brick as if you were wrapping a present. First glue the top right and left sides of the paper to the back of the brick. If you are using Gorilla Glue, be sure to read the directions. You have to dampen the surface of the brick, and then use very little glue because it will expand. If using Gorilla Glue, you will need to clamp down the glued portion for about 30 minutes for each step.

DSC_0052    DSC_0055

Step Five: Fold the ends up like you would wrap a present,  and clamp it for another 30 minutes. I used a black piece of paper to put between the project and my books just in case a little glue creeped out from under the paper.

DSC_0056   DSC_0001

DSC_0003

Step Six: Carefully trace the back of the brick onto a matching piece of card stock or onto your extra scrapbook paper.

DSC_0005

Step Seven: Cut it out just a little bit smaller than your brick so the edges don’t stick out. Glue it to the back of your bookend.

DSC_0006

Step Eight: Enjoy your bookends!!!!

DSC_0010

DSC_0007

 

 

Leave a Reply

