5 Steps to a Customized Blog Planner

Blogging is harder for me than other types of writing. I have no idea why, but when writing fiction everything is normally pretty smooth. Once I get that idea or I have a direction, fiction writing to me is natural. Don’t get me wrong, writing fiction, especially a longer work, is HARD. One of these days I will probably give myself a concussion from banging my head against the wall when trying to fix a plot point or when I realize that my dialogue is BORING or when I just spent two hours and all I could get out was maybe two hundred words. But overall, fiction writing is my thing, it’s what makes me excited to call myself a writer. But blogging? Good grief. Figuring out what I’m going to write about each new post drives me nuts. When I write fiction, I write fantasy; I can make things up. Not so with blogging. It’s nonfiction. It has to be relevant and to some degree personal. And, at least for me, it has to be planned out in advance. Otherwise, I skip posting days and the content of my blog becomes inconsistent.

So, I made myself a blog post planner for the year. It cost me about ten bucks to make, and it’s exactly what I need. I looked around for one I could just buy, but I couldn’t find anything that fit my exact needs. Here is how I put together my own customized blog planner:

1. I found the perfect (free) blog post planner page and printed out enough for three posts a week for the year. This step took up the most time. I had to search the internet for a free page that I felt would best help me plan out my blogs in advance. Here is the one I chose:

DSC_0031

This blog planner (from Confessions of a Homeschooler) and this one (a whole blogging binder set from Measuring Flower) seemed good for someone who had a very large audience and performed giveaways or made money off of their blog and things like that.

Here are a few other planners I found: From Oh My Handmade Goodness! (includes a marketing worksheet); From Living Locurto; From The Complete Guide to Imperfect Homemaking

2. I bought a set of monthly dividers.

3. I organized the dividers and the printed blog post planning pages.

4. I took everything to Office Depot and had them coil bind the whole thing. Why coil binding? You could just hole punch the pages and put them in a binder, but coil binding is only $3.99-5, which is not much more than you’d spend on a binder. It looks better, it lays flat on a table, and you never have to worry about the pages bunching up or ripping because they got stuck on the binder.

DSC_0001 DSC_0016

5. The last step of making my blog planner is…planning my blog posts!!!

What do you use to plan your blogs? Do you have a planner or do you just wing it?

11 thoughts on “5 Steps to a Customized Blog Planner

  1. I own a small business and blogging is part of my communication. I use a binder by behance for all my planning (both for clients, marketing/blogging) it doesn’t have the awesome template you have, but it does offer different sections I can make apply to smithy thing. Good to know how affordable making a binder is! I’ll have to keep that in mind! Btw- my blog is: http://lintelsandlallies.blogspot.com

    • I’ve read that if you are planning out a bunch of tasks to make a binder without dates. Number the tasks or pages, and when you complete them, put the date on. That way you don’t feel behind, because a lot of times, you aren’t actually behind, you just underestimated the time it would take to do certain things.

Leave a Reply

