Science Curriculum for K-4/Preschool

I have begun officially homeschooling my kiddos. I didn’t end up buying an official curriculum; instead I put together my own. When it came to teaching science for K-4/Preschool, I wanted something reading heavy and hands on. I decided to go with The Berenstain Bear’s Big Book of Science and Nature as my main resource.

DSC_0002

The first section is called A Year in Bear Country. It talks about seasons, holidays and weather. It has facts about snow, rain, wind, thunderstorms, etc. It breaks down the year into months and then talks about each season, giving a story and actual facts having to do with that time of year.

DSC_0003

The next section is about nature. It has sections about animals, plants and the earth itself, and is broken down into the smaller categories of things like specific types of animals, trees, rocks, earthquakes, etc.

DSC_0005

The final sections is about machines, matter and energy. There are some projects and things to do in this section.

DSC_0007

I am supplementing each section with these two books, Mudpies to Magnets and Everybody Has a Body:

DSC_0009

DSC_0008

These are great for adding more hands on experiences with the subjects in the Berenstain’s Big Book of Science. I also did searches on the internet for hands on activities, and I will be using National Geographic’s kid’s pages and abcmouse.com to supplement. So far, it has been going really well, and I am enjoying teaching science more than I thought I would! What do you do for Preschool/K-4 Science? Any recommendations for Kindergarten and 1st grade?

3 thoughts on “Science Curriculum for K-4/Preschool

  1. Glad you’re enjoying home-schooling science!! We haven’t done much with science yet, but for this year, we’re using Our Animal Friends and the Usborne Flip-Flap Body Book. The curriculum we’re planning to use next year includes The Berenstain Bears’ Big Book of Science and Nature, so I’m glad you’re finding it a good resource so far!

  2. Good luck on the homeschooling thing! You are super bright yourself, so I know you are going to do a fabulous job. I noticed the last time I was at a goodwill that there were TONS of homeschooling books there that would be great once the kids get a bit older. It might save you a bit of cash later to check out thrift stores for potential homeschool materials. Worth looking into anyway.

Leave a Reply

