Health Problems Killed My Good Habits

For over a year, I knew something wasn’t quite right. I ignored it as long as I could, hoping it would go away. Then, about 8 months ago, I began seeking medical help when what had been annoying became increasingly painful. After lots of tests and a very uncomfortable internal ultrasound and lots of questions and tracking when the pain increased and decreased, I was told that I had Endimetriosis. For those of you who don’t know what that is, I’ll try to sum it up for you. Basically, the tissue that normally grows on the inside of the uterus begins to grow outside of the uterus and all over the pelvic region–on ovaries, bowels, etc. Sometimes it spreads higher. The tissue grows, thickens, breaks down and bleeds throughout the menstrual cycle. It hurts. During the worst of it, I was spending three weeks out of the month practically useless. I could barely walk for the pain, and once I was given painkillers, I would spend my days in pain until my husband could come home at which point I would take the painkiller and sleep for the rest of the evening. My husband even worked from home several days during that period of time because I was in such an enormous amount of pain, I couldn’t get out of bed.

Thankfully, we figured out what was wrong, and it was an easy fix. My doctor put me on birth control, and for me, that brought me down to only three or four days out of the month where I am in pain, which is much more manageable. Apparently my hormones and crazy cycle had a lot to do with the progression of the disorder.

Anyway, during that time, all the good habits I had spent years building evaporated. I didn’t care what I ate. I hardly ever had the time or the energy to make healthy food. We ordered out a lot. I stopped going to the gym. I could barely walk. No way I could get on an eliptical. I gained quite a bit of weight. It was just an all around bummer.

So, now that I am doing better, and (I think) will continue to get better, I would like to establish those habits all over again. And I have begun the process by eating better. I’ve been cooking healthy meals and we’ve been eating out much, much less. I still have to tackle the job of getting back into the habit of going to gym everyday. But all of this, both with experience and a little wisdom gained from getting a little older, is done with the goal of keeping my body healthy. I don’t even care about my weight anymore. I will keep track of it, but only once a month, on the first Friday of the month, and only to help guage my efforts. I spent a short time of my life thus far experiencing what it’s like to feel very sick for an extended period of time, and I don’t want to experience that again down the road because I chose to live an unhealthy lifestyle.

What’s more, my husband, who has been diagnosed with diabetes has been feeling worse for the wear. This is our chance to help our children develop good habits before they are all grown up and in the same positions we are. For the first time, I think our family is ready for a change. I’ve tried to make lifestyle changes in the past, but let’s be honest, if one person in a family decides to eat better, to do better with health, and the others don’t, it usually doesn’t last long. This time, I think my husband and I are in this together. We both want our entire family to be more healthy. Not to loose weight. But to live longer. To live more fully. I don’t care if I live until I’m 95 but am considered overweight my entire life (and believe it or not, that happens).

So, once a month I’ll give an update on health and what’s going on there. I’ll post a recipe or two that I’ve found that we like as a family. We are going to shoot for a lower carb, heavy veggie meal plan. Maybe blogging about the experience will encourage me to stay on the ball, and hopefully encourage someone else to make healthier choices.

Leave a Reply

