Makin’ Progress Always Feels Nice!

So, this past weekend, I finished the first draft of the second book in the series I’m writing!!! Woo-hoo!!! I had some kind of burst of energy once I realized I was in the home stretch and wrote 10,000 words in a total of about 8-9 hours of writing time on Friday and Saturday. I’m thinking I’m going to try to get the third done between now and October, with the bulk of it in July during Camp NaNo. Then I really want to finish the fourth and final book in November for NaNoWriMo. Then, I can go back to the first one and do a major overhaul/edit/some rewriting and I can start having some of my writing buddies critique it along the way. Originally I was going to take a break and edit the first one now, but I’m so excited to finish the series! I wish I had time to do both. It makes me wonder, what do you all who work on series and write more than one book at a time manage to go back and forth between the books? How do you manage to find the time? I’m guessing if you are full time, that would make it easier. But any tips for someone who can only find a few hours on some weeks to work on writing projects?

(And just a little shout out to my husband, who is awesome: When he found out I finished the second book, he wanted to celebrate just as much as me. And then when we were out, he asked me what my goals were and he wanted to know if he could help out any more, which he can’t. He’s already so supportive. All I need is for him to keep being awesome! I feel so blessed to have a marriage where we can both count on each other to support one another, and we both really believe in each other’s dreams and aspirations.)

Leave a Reply

